Chris Brown – Indigo Album Review

Chris Brown Indigo

If you have read at least three of my album reviews, you know how important LP lengths are to me. 12 is the optimum number in my opinion but thanks to streaming platforms, artists are instead releasing more tracks so as to boost their streaming revenue. I have complained about Drake and the Migos but Chris Brown takes it to another level with Indigo. This album has 32 tracks and I’m supposed to review it. Where do I even begin?


Indigo is the tenth studio album by Chris Brown released under his own label. As mentioned, it has 32 tracks. This isn’t bad compared to his 47-track 2017 album. I wonder why he is shoving us with so much music in one sitting. Chris Brown represents the current state of modern RnB; a blurred line between it and rap music. They are more or less the same thing nowadays.

It has taken me a week to finally write my opinion about it. The first two days were me hesitating to put on my headphones because I thought it would be a monotonous experience. To my surprise, it isn’t. That, however, doesn’t change the fact that there are too many songs for one to listen to in one sitting.


Chris Brown is a great artist, okay? Say what you want about but there is no denying that the man deserves a spot in the RnB Hall of Fame, if such a thing exists. That’s what saves this lengthy Indigo album in its’ two-hour plus run time.

One can certainly appreciate the effort he puts in his songs. He puts his all in a track, even if whatever he is saying is questionable (Side N****). His vocals are decent but I couldn’t help but notice his use of auto-tune when he tries to hit high notes. Speaking of autotune, it has its fair share of use. Not that he can’t sing, I’m just wondering if there was a need for him to use it in the first place.

What about the guest features? They’re okay, I guess. I definitely loved the features by H.E.R. (Come Together), Justin Bieber (Don’t Check on Me) and Drake (No Guidance). As a matter of fact, those were my personal favorites in the whole album. Their chemistry worked well, doubly so in No Guidance; I didn’t expect to see those two in one song. The other features are passable at best: Tyga does what Tyga does best; Juicy J, you know him; I still don’t like Gunna; Joyner Lucas and Lil Wayne were okay; I don’t like Tory Lanez; Trey Songz’ feature in the song Sexy is not surprising at all.

Let’s Talk About The Length

It is long. Chris Brown may have done us a favor by reducing the number of songs but it is still long. My playlists are usually one hour long; anything more than that will feel like a drag and I begin to lose interest. So, you can imagine how I felt after listening to Indigo three times.

Yes, there are great songs here and there but you have to sit through 2 hours looking for those songs. That made me quite unhappy and my frustration grew with every listen. If you were to ask me, the following songs should’ve been in the final cut:

  1. Back To Love
  2. Come Together
  3. Need A Stack
  4. No Guidance
  5. Don’t Check on Me
  6. Troubled Waters
  7. Undecided
  8. Natural Disaster (Maybe?)

That’s only a quarter of what is being offered. Let’s say this was the track list in an alternate dimension, I would’ve definitely give it a higher score than the one I’m about to give it.


Indigo could have been a great album by Chris Brown if it had fewer tracks. That didn’t happen and it honestly feels like a stretched album past its elastic limit. 6.8/10

Published by Elvis Mwangi

Student of life, Blogger, Audiophile. Lol.